iPhone 5 launch in 54 more countries in December

Credit: Apple

Apple announced today that the iPhone 5 will be launching in South Korea on December 7, with more than 50 additional countries to follow later this month.

Last week, the company announced that the handset will be available in China on Friday, December 14.

On the same day, the device will arrive in the following countries: Albania, Armenia, Antigua and Barbuda, Brazil, Bolivia, Bahamas, Bahrain, China, Chile, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Ecuador, Grenada, Indonesia, Israel, Jamaica, Jordan, Kuwait, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Malaysia, Philippines, Panama, Paraguay, Qatar, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, Taiwan, United Arab Emirates and Venezuela.

The following Friday, on December 21, Apple will release the iPhone 5 in another 20 countries: Barbados, Botswana, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Egypt, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Morocco, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritius, Niger, Senegal, St. Kitts, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Tunisia, Uganda and Vietnam.

In the meantime, shipping times for the iPhone 5 have reportedly been reduced to 2-4 business days in Australia, New Zealand and some Asian countries.

Source: Apple